National ICT Research Capacity and Priorities for Cooperation - The Republic of Uganda

National Priorities

Seven main national research priorities have been identified for ICT development in Uganda: ICT for Governance; ICT for Citizen Empowerment; ICT to support human rights protection, peace and conflict resolution; eHealth; eEducation and Rural Access to ICT (Telecentres).

National ICT Research Priorities include:

- Health & eHealth: Diagnostics; Epidemiological survey; Health care; Telemedicine; Service delivery. Institutions involved include: Ministry of Health, Makerere University, Mbarara University and Gulu University

- Food Security and Sustainable Agriculture: Climate Change; Agroforestry; Marketing; Agribusiness. Institutions involved include: Ministry of Agriculture, Makerere University, Gulu University and USAID.

- Secure clean and efficient energy. Institutions involved include: Ministry of Education and GIZ.

- Future Internet: Networks, Software Services, Wireless and mobile Applications. Institutions involved include: Makerere University

- Technology-enhanced Learning

- eGovernment

- Digital Content, Digital Libraries and Geographic Information Systems

National Research Capacity

The following universities and research centres in Uganda are undertaking ICT-related initiatives:

Makerere University

Departments include: Faculty of ICT (Computer Science, Information Technology, Information Sciences), Business School , East African School of Library and Information Science

Research areas include: Mobile Applications, ICT for Governance and Policy modelling, eInfrastructures, Information Systems, Networks, ICT for Sustainable Development, Software Engineering

Kyambogo University

Departments include: Department of Computer Science; Department of Mathematics; Department of Physics;

Research areas include: Technology-enhanced Learning, Inclusive Society

Mbarara University of Science & Technology

Departments include: Faculty of Science; Institute of Computer Science

Research areas include: Computer Engineering, Computer Science, Computer Services, Information Technology, Software incubation

Uganda Christian University (UCU)

Departments include: Faculty of Science & Technology - Departments of Computing, Environmental Science and Health Science

Gulu University

Departments include: Computer Science, Library and Information Services, Biosystems Engineering

Research areas include: eGovernance, eInclusion, eHealth, Technology-enhanced Learning, Agriculture, Environment

Kampala International University

Departments include: Computer Science - Information Technology and Systems, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mathematics, Biological and Environmental Sciences

Uganda Martyrs University

Research areas include: Technology-enhanced Learning

Bugema University

Departments include: Computing and Technology

Research areas include: eHealth, GIS, Engineering, eEducation; Mobile Communications; eAgriculture

ICT-39 Priority Themes

Based on consultation with stakeholders the following thematic areas are considered to be important in the context of the ICT-39 Call:

Thematic Areas Topics Partners include
eHealth Health diagnosis and Surveillance; Telemedicine and remote diagnosis; Epidemiology: Disease Surveillance and Early Warning systems; Monitoring of non-communicable diseases (hypertension, diabetes etc) Makerere University; Mbara University of Science and Technology;
eAgriculture Commodity Supply Chain, Extension services, Early Warning systems Mbarara University of Science and Technology; Makerere University; Gulu University
Technology-enhanced Learning Distance learning, content development Makerere University; Kyambogo University; Ndejje University; Bugema University; Mbarara University of Science and Technology
Environment Biomass Energy; Climate change mitigation; Renewable Energy Makerere University

Mapping to H2020 Themes

The initial mapping to Horizon 2020 Research areas is summarised below

Horizon 2020 Industrial Leadership Institution, Relevant Dept and Research area
Components and Systems Makerere University (Department of Electrical Engineering) ; Uganda Technology Management University: Smart Embedded Components
Advanced Computing Makerere University; Mbarara University
Future Internet Makerere University
Content Technologies & Information Management Makerere University ; Gulu University : Technology-enhanced Learning; Uganda Martyrs University: Technology-enhanced Learning
Robotics Makerere University (Faculty of Engineering): Robotics

Horizon 2020 Societal Challenges Institution, Relevant Dept and Research area
Health Makerere University (School of Public Health): Epidemiology, Diagnostics, Telemedicine; Mbarara University: Epidemiology
Food Security, Sustainable Agriculture Makerere University (College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences): Sustainable Agriculture, Food Security, Agri-business
Energy Makerere University (College of Computer and Information Technology, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering)
Inclusive, Innovative and Reflective Societies Makerere University (College of Computer and Information Technology): eInclusion
Secure Societies Makerere University (College of Computer and Information Technology): Information Security

Level of Research Maturity

Uganda has a strong research base and good experience in collaborative research having participated in more than 41 projects and securing over € 7.7 million in research funding under FP7. There is research capacity in the areas of ICT, Environment, Health, Technology-enhanced Learning, Food Security and Agriculture.

Uganda has benefited significantly from participation in the IST-Africa Initiative through capacity building, training workshops, establishing and training of National Contact Points, workshops that support knowledge exchange and collaboration at national level, support for national researchers to publish research papers and present research results at international scientific conferences as well as access to a network of policy makers and research institutions across Africa and Europe.

ICT research funding at national level is currently complicated and insufficient mainly because of its silo-based nature which is at odds with the dynamic, interdisciplinary and cross-fertilization nature of modern ICT related innovations.