IST-Africa 2007 Conference & Exhibition

09 - 11 May 2007, Maputo, Mozambique


Hosted by the Government of Mozambique, the IST-Africa 2007 Conference & Exhibition took place 9 - 11 May 2007 in Maputo. Part of the IST-Africa Initiative, which is supported by the European Commission under the IST Programme of Framework Programme 6 (FP6), IST-Africa 2007 was the second in an Annual Conference Series that brings together representatives from leading commercial, government & research organisations across Africa and Europe. IST-Africa aims to bridge the Digital Divide by sharing knowledge, experience, lessons learnt and good practice, and facilitate EU-African research cooperation and successful exploitation of research results.

IST-Africa 2007 was a great success, attracting Ministerial participation and over 460 delegates from 51 countries and four continents, and Exhibitors from 11 countries. Many of the European presentations in this year's conference programme were funded by the IST Programme under FP6.

IST-Africa 2007 was opened by the Prime Minister of Mozambique, H.E. Luisa Dias Diogo. The Final Programme presented, participating Keynote Speakers and Major Sponsors are available online.

Pre-Announcement of IST-Africa 2008

IST-Africa 2008, which will take place in the beautiful city of Windhoek, Namibia, 07 - 09 May 2008 is the third in this Annual Conference Series. IST-Africa 2008 is Hosted by the Government of Namibia through the Ministry of Education, Supported by the European Commission and Technical Co-Sponsored by IEEE.

The Call for Papers will be published at the end of August, with a closing date of 09 November for online submission of full papers and workshop proposals. Click here to download the Call for Papers brochure.

IST-Africa 2007 Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award was presented to "Grid-enabled Simulation of the Impact of Exploitation Uncertainty on the Seawater Intrusion of the Korba Aquifer (Tunisia)" authored by Jaouher Kerrou, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland, Giuditta Lecca, CRS4, Italy, Fabrizio Murgia, CRS4, Italy & Philippe Renard, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland.

The Runner-up Best Paper Award was presented to "Use of Structural Communication to Automatically Assign Participants to Discussion Groups in Online Learning" authored by Robinson Noronha, Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná, Brazil, Alexander Romiszowski, Syracuse University, United States and Clovis Torres Fernandes, Technological Institute of Aeronautics - ITA, Brazil.

IST-Africa 2007 Best Demonstration Stand Award

The Best Demonstration Stand Award was presented to Angola Biometric Voting Census presented by Sinfic, Portugal.