

PASSPORT / TRAVEL DOCUMENT HOLDERS WHO ARE EXEMPT FROM VISAS FOR SOUTH AFRICA

SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE

The citizen who is a holder of a national passport (diplomatic, official and ordinary) / travel document of the foreign countries / territories / international organisations listed below are not required to hold a visa when reporting to an immigration officer for an examination at a South African port of entry, subject to the terms and conditions set out in this list, including *inter alia* the intended period of stay in the Republic.

- 1. The holder of a national South African passport, travel document and document for travel purposes.
- 2. The citizen who is a holder of a national passport (diplomatic, official or ordinary) / travel document of the following countries / territories / international organisations is not required to hold a visa in respect of purposes for which a visitor's permit may be issued or by virtue of being a person contemplated in section 31(3)(b) [diplomatic & official visit] for an intended stay of 90 days or less and when in transit:

Andorra Argentina

Australia

Austria

Belgium

Botswana [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry]

Brazil

Canada

Chile

Czech Republic

Denmark

Ecuador

Finland

France

Germany

Greece

Iceland

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

Japan

Liechtenstein

Luxemburg

Malta

Monaco

Netherlands

New Zealand

Norway

Paraguay [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 120 days]

Portugal

Southern African Development Community (SADC) [Staff members who

travel on SADC laissez-passers for bona fide official

business visits]

San Marino

Singapore

Spain

St Vincent & the Grenadines

Sweden

Switzerland

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, British Islands Bailiwick of Guernsey and Jersey, Isle of Man and Virgin Islands, Republic of Ireland, and British Overseas Territories

Note that a national of the following countries **do require a visa**: British Dependent Territories, including Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, St Helena, Ducie and Oeno Islands, the Sovereign Base Area of Akrotiri and Dhekelia and the Turks and Caicos Island.

United Nations (UN) laissez-passer holders. Volunteers attached to UN agencies and travelling on ordinary passports as well, provided that they are in possession of the relevant letters or identification documents to identify themselves at ports of entry as personnel of a UN agency.

Uruguay Venezuela

United States of America

3. The citizen who is a holder of a national passport (diplomatic, official and ordinary) / travel document of the following countries / territories / international organisations is not required to hold a visa in respect of purposes for which a visitor's permit may be issued or by virtue of being a person contemplated in section 31(3)(b) [diplomatic & official visit] for an intended stay of **30 days** or less and when in transit:

African Union / Unity Laissez Passer

Antigua and Barbuda

Barbados Belize Benin Bolivia Cape Verde Costa Rica

Cyprus [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 90 days]

Gabon Guyana

Hong Kong [only with regard to holders of Hong Kong British

National-Overseas passports and Hong Kong Special

Administrative Region passports]

Hungary [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 120 days]

Jordan

Lesotho [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry]

Macau [only with regard to holders of Macau Special

Administrative Region passports (MSAR)]

Malaysia

Malawi [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15]

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry]

Maldives Mauritius

Mozambique [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 90 days]

Namibia [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry

Peru

Poland [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 90 days]

Seychelles

Slovak Republic [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 90 days]

South Korea

Swaziland [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry]

Thailand [diplomatic and official passport holders are exempt for a

period of up to 90 days]

Turkey

Zambia [commercial heavy-duty vehicle drivers are exempt for 15

days only and on condition that they produce a letter confirming their employment with a foreign transport

company on entry]

Zimbabwe [only in respect of government officials, including police

on cross border investigations]

4. Only citizens who are holders of **diplomatic and official passports** of the following countries do not require visas in respect of purposes for which a visitor's permit may be issued or by virtue of being a person contemplated in section 31(3)(b) [diplomatic & official visit] for the **period indicated** and transit:

Albania	(120 days)
Algeria	(30 days)
Angola	(90 days)
Bulgaria	(90 days)
Comoros	(90 days)
Croatia	(90 days)
Egypt	(30 days)
Ivory Coast	(30 days)
Kenya	(30 days)
Madagascar	(30 days)
Morocco	(30 days)
Romania	(90 days)
Rwanda	(30 days)
Slovenia	(120 days)
Tunisia	(90 days)

5. Notwithstanding this list, a foreigner whose **visa exemption has been withdrawn** shall comply with the visa requirement until notified by the Department that his / her visa exemption has been re-instated by the Department on petition or of its own accord.